Sticker Emergency

April 16, 2010 at 7:28 pm 1 comment

It was 7AM. I sent an email to the entire staff at my school saying I had a sticker emergency. I got back 6 emails within 30 seconds from people who took my emergency very seriously and offered their stickers. This is why I love my school.

And truly, there is nothing cuter than a smiling 10-year old whose face is covered in stickers.

Today, there were four steps to earning stickers. (Excuse the pictures – I took them on my cell phone and the outside is cracked so this is what happens…)

1. I put a problem on the board.

2. Students do the problem silently.

3. I say, “Strike a pose!” The students freeze in a pose next to their chairs.

4. My “sticker helpers” put a sticker on the forehead of anyone who got the right answer.

And then repeat.

I was able to do this for about an hour, and we did around 20 problems.  The greatest thing about the steps are that “student statues” have to  be silent because obviously statutes don’t talk. It was a great way to review. Since it was the last day that I would see the kids before the BIG TEST, I only gave problems that I knew were a “slam dunk.” And the kids were so excited about all their stickers.

Entry filed under: Motivation, Test Prep. Tags: , , .

Working with Volunteers, Part 1 October is a month you just have to get through.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dustin Wood  |  June 17, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Brilliant! I love it and there is nothing better than a big, beaming smile (especially when Math is involved)! I’ll be stealing this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click below to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 23 other followers


