Paper Plate Awards

June 12, 2010 at 12:23 am Leave a comment

My school has an annual tradition in which teachers give each other “Paper Plate Awards.” They are a way for teachers to honor their colleagues by simply writing (or sometimes obsessively decorating) paper plates, which they award at the last faculty meeting of the year. I highly HIGHLY recommend starting something like this at your school if there isn’t something like it already. It doesn’t have to be formal. In our first year, we just got together at a restaurant and gave out our plates while we ate. It is a truly lovely way to end the year. I still have many of my plates from years ago.

My principal also had students make eachother paper plates one year. With students it is important to discuss what to do if they get the name of someone they don’t know very well. Then each student picks a name out of a jar with everyone’s name in it. I emphasize secrecy, but I also give them a chance to quietly trade names. This year I used photocopies of paper plates with the students because I didn’t have time to get to the store.

Entry filed under: Motivation. Tags: , .

“I just noticed everybody’s so happy about testing.” My Two Cents On Positive Peer Intervention

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click below to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 23 other followers


