High Fives and Shout-Outs

June 24, 2010 at 1:26 pm 1 comment

Sometimes a prize for good behavior isn’t necessary. Sometimes it is effective simply to track behavior in a fun way. (I already do this for myself with exercise, and I’m guessing a lot of other people do too. If so, I’d love to hear about it in a comment.)

This sheet was designed for a student who could do the math when she tried but who often did not participate if something in a previous class had upset her. At the beginning of each class, I gave her a copy of the sheet on her desk and starred it when she did the right thing. It was simple way to remind her what she was supposed to be doing. When she got all of her stars, I made a big point of telling her how great I thought it was. That’s where the high fives and shout-outs came in. Sometimes I would take the student around to introduce her to a sixth grade teacher,

“Have you met J? She’s going to be in your sixth grade class next year. Just look at what she did today!”

This sheet was created for one of my students who was easily distracted and fidgety. He picked up a copy at the beginning of each day and carried it with him from class to class. The sheet reminded him of the times we set aside for him to exercise and let out some energy. It also encouraged him to show he was a good listener by filling in the cartoon bubbles with something that he heard someone say in each class. He could collect stickers from teachers when he did some particularly great listening, and we would hang it up when he had a really great day.

Wouldn’t you love it if someone specially designed a sheet just for you to acknowledge every time you did something difficult?

I would.

Entry filed under: Motivation. Tags: , , .

Tower of Triumph Keep it simple.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. D. Ramish  |  June 24, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    I will use checklists on occasion to remind myself of priorities, track how I’m doing, and create accountability. Determining priorities and how to measure success is in and of itself a useful exercise. Also, sometimes my perception of how I’m doing is different from what the checklist reveals, so it’s a useful gauge. And knowing that there will be a record of one’s laziness – or badassness – is an incentive to persevere.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click below to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 23 other followers


