How do we get there?

July 26, 2010 at 6:24 pm 2 comments

Once I share the big goal on Day One, I wanted to set the expectation for behavior in an interesting way. I decided that reaching our big goal came down to the Two P’s: practicing and participating. I used student volunteers to demonstrate the importance of the Two P’s to the  class:

When I planned this part of the lesson I was a little worried it would backfire. Luckily it’s actually true – if students practice and participate in class, they will learn – so everything worked out.

Entry filed under: Motivation. Tags: , , .

Day One = Pure Potential Inspired by Professional Development

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristy  |  July 26, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    Oh – that’s a really good activity!! I wonder if you split the class into two groups and one half practiced/participated and the other half played games and drew pictures, if you would get the same result (which i totally think you would) and it would be even more powerful because every kid would be involved. Awesome! I loved that clip!

    Reply
    • 2. teachies  |  July 27, 2010 at 2:17 am

      It’s so funny you should mention that – my next idea is to divide the kids into 4 groups: the group that listens, the group that watches, the group that does both and the group that does neither. I ask the kids to predict which group will learn the fastest, and we try it. Hopefully, in the end I get to say, “That is why we look AND listen when the teacher is talking.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click below to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 23 other followers


