What happens in Vegas, stays with you.

August 4, 2010 at 1:29 am 2 comments

I cannot take credit for the title of the post. I heard it at the Opening Ceremonies of this year’s KIPP School Summit where, for us teachers, it’s true.

(By the way, those were the same Opening Ceremonies where I heard Andre Agassi talk about what he’s doing for education. I had no idea! It was super exciting!)

The point is I’m in Vegas, and I wouldn’t have flown all this way if I didn’t think that the things I learned this week would stay with me.

I have attended 3 of the last 4 KIPP school summits, and I clearly remember at least one moment from each summit that dramatically changed my teaching. So I feel incredibly lucky to be able to contribute to the KIPP School Summit blog and share my enthusiasm.

In my latest post, I discuss one of the workshops that I most clearly remember:

http://kippschoolsummit2010.blogspot.com/2010/08/speaking-common-language.html

If you would like to check out the book I discuss in the post, it is here. It is amazing.

 And I’ll have more on this year’s workshops later…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

The proof is in the pudding. Literally. Confession and Commitment

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. james h. edmonds  |  August 4, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    …as usual, your excitment always comes through. Keep us posted.

    Reply
  • 2. Rebecca  |  August 15, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    Oh my gosh! You are a KIPP math teacher??!! That is so cool — I have been reading so much about KIPP via Malcolm Gladwell/Outliers (I actually wrote a lil’ about the KIPP math philosophy on my blog here: http://bit.ly/b57UTJ) but I never thought I would actually get to read a KIPP teacher’s blog. Awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click below to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 23 other followers


