Making Best Practices Automatic

July 7, 2011 at 10:01 pm Leave a comment

School is on Monday. I have been going to professional development workshops, planning with my grade level team, discussing details with my principal, and producing: posters, seating charts, homework, activities… The list goes on forever.

Then last night I woke up in the middle of a deep sleep, suddenly realizing, “Oh my gosh, the students will be there.”

This might sound like a silly realization, but it takes a real mind-shift to start thinking about “the first day of school” as “the students’ first day of school.” If you do start thinking about it this way then you start to think about how intimidating it can be. And how exhausting. And how boring. Really, if we’re honest, about 99% of what we do on the first day is going to be blocked out by all the overwhelming emotion that comes with just showing up after a long summer break.

It is these concerns that make me so grateful for my lesson planning template (download sample here). I imagine that at first glance it would appear pretty complicated. It started out a simple place to list the objective, the agenda and the materials. But  as I have added new “best practices” to my repetoire, I have added to the template. For me, it is a constantly evolving document that reminds my present self what my past self found was important. When I make changes, it becomes a gift to my future self.

You will see that I have broken things down into 5 minute chunks. That’s because I used to be really bad at budgeting time and keeping the lesson flowing. You will see that I put a place to record “sparkle,” the place in the lesson where something magical will happen. Every lesson should have some sparkle. You will see that I broke my 5 minute chunks into what the teacher does and what the student does. I did that to remember to plan exactly how the students would move between activities.

The part that stood out to me today was the reminder to highlight my movement breaks. The students are going to need that.

Thank you, past self. All last week, I kept thinking about my first day back. Now it’s time to put myself in my students’ shoes. It is their first day back.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Coming Back For More Replicable Practice

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click below to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 23 other followers


