Day One = Pure Potential

July 21, 2010 at 11:06 pm 8 comments

I know. I’ve been missing for two weeks. That is because you cannot get ready for the first day of school AND keep up with a blog. I’m going to have to streamline things if I’m going to keep this going.

In the meantime, there was Day One.

And on Day One, there’s only one thing that you really have to do – invest students in your classroom’s goal.

I don’t know if these ten minutes inspired the kids, but it’s ten minutes that I’m going to watch when I feel myself getting burnt out in the middle of the year.

Entry filed under: Motivation. Tags: , .

World Cup Connections How do we get there?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sam  |  July 22, 2010 at 12:09 am

    I’ve always wanted to see what happened inside those four walls. Three years of math in one year. Love it. Thanks for post!

    Reply
  • 2. Audrey  |  August 2, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    I would be so excited if I was a fifth grader in your class. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Vicki Davis and Vicki Davis, Sue Roseman. Sue Roseman said: Math with Ms Suben –first Day https://yearseven.wordpress.com/2010/07/21/day-one-pure-potential/ […]

    Reply
  • 4. Michelle Howell-Martin  |  August 3, 2010 at 10:48 am

    This is wonderful! I was very impressed with the idea of teaching 3 years of math in 1 year. I do have a question: Do your students come to you on grade level, below grade level, or do you have all levels? The reason I’m asking is that I will have students who walk into my classroom later this month who are at varying abilities in math.

    Reply
    • 5. teachies  |  August 3, 2010 at 8:32 pm

      Michelle, thanks for reading! My students also enter at vastly different levels, but the majority are below grade level. Three years of math in one year is a hugely ambitious mark but it helps me set up the idea that we will be reviewing some below grade-level material and then moving very quickly. Do set up a big goal in your classroom? I’d love you to share it!

      Reply
  • […] Day One = Pure Potential « Math Rules […]

    Reply
  • […] Day One = Pure Potential « Math Rules […]

    Reply
  • 8. teachies  |  November 8, 2013 at 8:04 pm

    Just to clarify, the reason why I say that these kids are ahead of kids in the public schools is because they come to school over the summer and they have a longer school day and they even come to school on some Saturdays. In that sense, I know these kids are working harder than most other kids in the city.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click below to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 23 other subscribers